Indigenous Strategic Plan Implementation Committee

The Indigenous Strategic Plan Implementation Committee (ISPIC), formerly the Aboriginal Strategic Plan Implementation Committee, was formed shortly after the release of the Aboriginal Strategic Plan in 2009, with membership drawn from the then Steering Committee for the Development of the UBC Aboriginal Strategic Plan.

With the launch of the Indigenous Strategic Plan (ISP) in 2020, ISPIC updated its Terms of Reference [PDF] and renamed itself to align with the current plan.

The purpose of ISPIC is to:

  • Foster, support and advise the development of implementation strategies and plans, and provide feedback across Faculties and administrative units on the Vancouver campus.
  • Monitor the progress of implementation strategies and plans by coordinating the collection and reporting of quantitative and qualitative metrics; and
  • Provide advice and recommendations regarding implementation progress, reporting, resources or other matters, as requested, to the Vancouver Provost.


  • Dr Joely Viveiros (Interim Chair), Associate Director (Acting Director), First Nations House of Learning
  • Mr Dave Shorthouse (Vice-Chair), Executive Director, Academic Initiatives, Office of the Provost & VP Academic
  • Ms Allison Beardsworth, Associate Director, Strategic Indigenous Enrolment Initiatives, Enrolment Services
  • Dr Verna Billy-Minnabarriet , Senior Advisor to the Dean on Indigenous Education, Faculty of Education
  • Dr Stefania Burk, Associate Professor of Teaching, Asian Studies & Associate Dean Academic, Faculty of Arts
    Alternate: Mr Gerald Vanderwoude, Assistant Dean, Faculty Operations, Faculty of Arts
  • Ms Lerato Chondoma, Associate Director, Indigenous Research Support Initiative, Office of the VP Research & Innovation
  • Ms Sarah Dupont, Head, Xwi7xwa Library (on leave)
    Alternate: Julie Mitchell, Associate University Librarian & Director, Irving K. Barber Learning Centre
  • Dr Jan Hare, Professor, Language and Literacy Education & Dean pro tem, Faculty of Education
  • Dr Brianne Howard, Director, Academic Support, Faculty of Graduate & Postdoctoral Studies
  • Dr Rob Kozak, Dean, Faculty of Forestry
  • Ms Lucy Li, Associate Director, Strategic Implementation, Provost & VP Academic Office
  • Dr Tricia Logan, Academic Director, Indian Residential School History and Dialogue Centre
    Alternate: Ms Kristin Kozar, Executive Director, Indian Residential School History and Dialogue Centre
  • Dr Renisa Mawani, Professor, Sociology, Canada Research Chair, Colonial Legal Histories & Acting Associate Dean, Equity, Strategy, and Innovation, Faculty of Arts
  • Ms Amy Perreault, Strategist for Indigenous Initiatives, Centre for Teaching, Learning and Technology
  • Ms Samantha Reid, Executive Director, Office of the VP Students
  • Dr Jackie Stewart, Associate Professor of Teaching, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Science
  • Mr Kevin Ward, Research and Communication Officer, First Nations House of Learning
  • Guest: Ms Adrienne Vedan, Senior Advisor to the Deputy Vice-Chancellor on Indigenous Affairs (UBC Okanagan)
  • Guest: Dr Arig al Shaibah, Associate Vice-President, Equity and Inclusion
  • Vacant, Associate Director, Office of Strategic Indigenous Initiatives
  • Vacant, Specialist, Indigenous Graduate Initiatives, Faculty of Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies